Trip to Monterey Bay Aquarium

Over the last few weeks we’ve been talking about the ESA, the effects of each section and what is being done to keep endangered species alive. I’ve always been more partial to marine life, though I’m incredibly afraid of the ocean. So this week I decided to take advantage of my student ID and head down to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. I signed up for a membership, which is the same price as two visits, and I’ve officially done a small part to help fund the Aquarium and everything they do to educate the public about marine life.

I think what is important about this class is that it gives you the background to really understand why we should appreciate marine life and wild life in general. Once you understand what kind of problems some of these species are dealing with than you can start to really appreciate what you see at the aquarium. The Open Ocean exhibit is a perfect example of that. You see all kind of species: Hamerhead Sharks, Sardines, Sea Turtles and the amazingly creepy Sun fish. Seriously, those things look so strange it almost seems fake. The Open Ocean exhibit gives us the ability to see marine life in action and see how these different species interact with each other. I happened to show up at the exhibit when they were featuring a baby Great White Shark. This was definitely a treat to see the shark swim all around the giant tank and watch the other fish avoid it at all cost. Even at its small size it was a commanding presence in the tank.

I walked around the entire exhibit, though I wasn’t able to study each exhibit as closely as I would have liked. It was crowded as usual. I did try to find the coral reef meter that was talked about during the Savenature.org presentation, but I couldn’t find it for the life of me. The people working there didn’t even know about it. Oh well. I’ll be back for sure, especially for the member nights. It was definitely a great time, I haven’t been there since I was very young, and now with all my environmental knowledge I can definitely appreciate it much more and reinforce why it’s worth protecting.

Here are a few pictures I took and a video of Open Ocean:

Open Ocean Videohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWwH5KbekP0&feature=youtu.be

Leave a Reply

